Last week, Google followed Facebook’s lead to announce that it was changing its terms of service so it could use your name and photo potentially in future endorsement ads for products that you have liked or written about. And they are doing so without paying you or getting your explicit permission in each instance.
Here, in part, is that announcement:
How your Profile Name and Photo May Appear
(including in reviews and advertising)
On Google, youâ€™re in control of what you share. This update to our Terms of Service doesnâ€™t change in any way who youâ€™ve shared things with in the past or your ability to control who you want to share things with in the future.
… your friends might see that you rated an album 4 stars on the bandâ€™s Google Play page. And the +1 you gave your favorite local bakery could be included in an ad that the bakery runs through Google. We call these recommendations shared endorsements and you can learn more about them here.
When it comes to shared endorsements in ads, you can control the use of your Profile name and photo via the Shared Endorsements setting. If you turn the setting to â€œoff,â€ your Profile name and photo will not show up on that ad for your favorite bakery or any other ads. This setting only applies to use in ads, and doesnâ€™t change whether your Profile name or photo may be used in other places such as Google Play.
Here is more detail about “shared endorsement” ads and how to set your preferences.
Oddly, the circled text says to click the box below if you want to prevent your name and photo from being used, but the text next to the box says the exact opposite. By clicking it, you are allowing Google to use your words and pictures in ads.
This may be a matter of timing, since the new policy does not go into effect until November 11, so in the meantime, it is “opt-in.” News reports, however, indicate that once the change is in effect the only way to prevent your likeness from being used is to opt-out.
And in the actual language of their new terms of service statement, it clearly says “you can choose your settings so your name and photo do not appear in ads.”
The trouble with all this is that most people either won’t know that this new advertising policy exists, or won’t be able to find the spot to turn it off.